fbpx Rose Bowl Hall of Fame Archives - Hey SoCal. Change is our intention.
The Votes Are In!
2023 Readers' Choice is back, bigger and better than ever!
View Winners →
Vote for your favorite business!
2023 Readers' Choice is back, bigger and better than ever!
Start voting →
Subscribeto our newsletter to stay informed
  • Enter your phone number to be notified if you win
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Home / Rose Bowl Hall of Fame

Rose Bowl Hall of Fame to add 3 inductees at Pasadena luncheon

Former USC running back Anthony Davis, ex-Big Ten Commissioner Jim Delany and All-American Michigan defensive standout Ron Simpkins will be inducted into the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame Thursday.

The trio will be formally inducted during a ceremony and luncheon outside the Rose Bowl stadium, just two days before the 108th Rose Bowl Game.

With the three-member Class of 2021, the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame will have 136 inductees, who are recognized with plaques in The Court of Champions at the stadium. This year’s inductees will also be recognized in Saturday’s Rose Parade and on the field during the Rose Bowl Game.

Davis helped lead the Trojans to three Rose Bowl Games — including victories in the 1973 and 1975 games — and two national championships during his three seasons. In his three Rose Bowl appearances, he totaled 342 all- purpose yards and three scores. He played professionally for six seasons.

Delany served as commissioner of the Big Ten Conference from 1989 to 2020, helping spearhead the creation of the Big Ten Network, the development of the college football replay system and the creation of the Bowl Championship Series and the College Football Playoff. He was also an outspoken advocate for gender equity in college sports.

Simpkins played with Michigan in three consecutive Rose Bowl Games from 1977-79, tallying a then-record 16 tackles during a loss to Washington in the 1978 game. The linebacker made 12 tackles in the 1979 game against USC. He was drafted by the Cincinnati Bengals in the 1981 draft and spent seven seasons in the NFL.

Skip to content