fbpx Ellen Kuras Archives - Hey SoCal. Change is our intention.
The Votes Are In!
2023 Readers' Choice is back, bigger and better than ever!
View Winners →
Vote for your favorite business!
2023 Readers' Choice is back, bigger and better than ever!
Start voting →
Subscribeto our newsletter to stay informed
  • Enter your phone number to be notified if you win
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Home / Ellen Kuras

`Dune’ wins American Society of Cinematographers top award

The American Society of Cinematographers has chosen the latest incarnation of “Dune,” based on the Frank Herbert novel, as the winner of its 36th annual award for best feature film cinematography.

Greig Fraser won out against the cinematographers of “The Tragedy of Macbeth,” “Nightmare Alley,” “The Power of the Dog” and “Belfast.”

Winners were announced during a hybrid ceremony originating from the ASC Clubhouse in Hollywood that was live-streamed. Awards were handed out in the documentary and television cinematography categories, as well as for the ASC’s Spotlight Award, which recognizes exceptional cinematography in independent, foreign or art-house-type films.

Last year’s ASC feature film winner — Erik Messerschmidt, for “Mank” — went on to win the Oscar for cinematography.

Four special awards were also handed out — including one to Ellen Kuras, the first woman to receive the ASC’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Kuras, an Academy Award nominee best known for her work on 2004’s “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind” and 2001’s “Blow,” joined Peter Levy, John Lindley and Dan Sasaki in receiving the special accolades.

Levy was presented with the Career Achievement in Television Award; Lindley received the President’s Award; and Sasaki, an engineer at Panavision, received the inaugural Curtis Clark Technical Achievement Award, given to an individual who has made significant technological contributions to the art and craft of cinematography.

Skip to content